SA Branch

Follow PHAA SA on Twitter

Join Now


Welcome to the PHAA South Australia Branch

The South Australian Branch of the PHAA is committed to advancing public health in the state. This is achieved by member's involvement in public health, primary health care and environmental health committees and groups; by conducting a seminar program; and assisting in professional development and advocacy.

Please take some time to explore what the PHAA SA Branch has been doing for Public Health. If you are not already a member with us, join now to explore the many benefits of being a member of the Public Health Association Australia.

SA PHAA Branch Committee:

The PHAA SA branch Executive Committee meets monthly to discuss upcoming events, advocacy issues and links with other organisations. All committee members are volunteers. Currently the executive committee is primarily focusing on organising events and advocacy work.


President: Jacqueline Bowden
E: [email protected]

Dr Jacqueline Bowden is a behavioural scientist who has worked in public health for nearly 20 years. She has a Bachelor of Arts with Honours in Psychology, a Master of Public Health and a PhD. Jacqueline is passionate about public health and prevention and is particularly motivated to see the translation of research into practice for public health benefit. Jacqueline’s research focus is in the area of policy and health promotion and ways to encourage individuals to make behavioural changes to improve their health. She is most well known for her work in tobacco control research and evaluation and alcohol research.



 Co-Vice President: Mary Brushe

Mary Brushe is a research study manager at Telethon Kids Institute and has an Honours in Psychology and is in her final year of her PhD in Public Health through the University of Adelaide. Mary has been a member of the PHAA since 2018, and is currently holding the roles of Vice President and Advocacy Coordinator for the SA Branch of PHAA and the Treasurer of the Child and Youth Health SIG. Her research interests focus on early childhood health and development, the impact of screen time, and children and adolescents' mental health and wellbeing. She is experienced in the management of prospective cohort studies, epidemiological research methods, research translation for policy and practice and public health advocacy. Outside of PHAA, Mary is also a member of the 0-3 Early Years Taskforce in South Australia and the Co-Chair of the Student and Postdoc Committee for the International Society Epidemiological Society.



Co-Vice President and Membership Secretary: Joanne Flavel 

Advocacy Coordinator: Ashlea Bartram

Events Coordinator: Priyanka Multani

Minutes secretary: Dilan Gohil

Treasurer and Social media: Ahmed Hasan

Committee Members

    Katherine Baldock
    Alanna Sincovich
    Natasha Howard
    Nicole Miller
    Dannielle Post

Student Sub-Committee

The SA PHAA Student Sub-Committee was established in 2021 to facilitate greater student involvement and engagement with the activities of the PHAA. The Sub-Committee meets regularly (at least once every two months) to develop projects aimed at supporting the functions of the Executive Committee, and broader PHAA objectives.

The Sub-Committee aims:

To promote and represent SA PHAA throughout the four major SA Universities;

To attend and support SA PHAA events and activities;

To represent the needs and wants of the student membership base to increase engagement.

Student Sub-Committee Members:

    Amandi Hiyare
    Taylah Gregory
    Bridie Armour
    Jay Kongsawat
    Wade Peterson
    Maggie Siegert
    Priyanka Mascarenhas
    Chijindu Etalong
    Dilan Gohil
    Negin Mirzaei Damabi
    Zahra Ali Padhani

Advisory Committee

The SA PHAA Executive established the SA PHAA Advisory Committee to ensure that extensive public health and corporate knowledge from local public health leaders is informing the Branch’s strategic directions and advocacy initiatives. The SA PHAA Advisory Committee meets at least twice a year.

The Committee aims:

To work with the Executive Committee to provide input and advice to the Branch’s strategic planning processes, including advice regarding important topics of interest for PHAA member activities;

To determine the recipient of the annual Basil Hetzel Leadership in Public Health Award; and

To provide assistance where possible with the development of relevant submissions and responses to government policies or initiatives.


Professor Fran Baum, Professor John Coveney, Dr Stephen Christley, Ms Christine Morris, Ms Wendy Keech, Mr Adrian Heard.


Join Now